My First Blog Post

communications spotlightI’m new to the blogosphere and this is my first attempt to begin blogging. As a senior at the University of Oregon, set to graduate in June, I am eager to share my observations as a communications professional.

It is my intention for this blog to provide insight into the world of communications. By discussing trends and issues in the industry, I hope this blog will help provide an understanding of the ever-changing communications industry.

You might be asking yourself why I named my blog after a medical term for a doctor’s opinion about what is going to happen in the future. The truth is that Hippocrates inspired me with his “Book of Prognostics.”

A doctor’s purpose is to study, diagnosis, and treat a patient’s problem, which is exactly what communications professionals do for their clients. Because of this, I see communications professionals as a type of doctor, whose patients are the businesses and organizations they help. Since I consider myself this type of doctor, and the focus of my blog is on emerging trends, I thought it would be fitting to name my blog Prognosis.

I am interested in everything that relates to the world of communications, but if I had to pick one thing that interests me most regarding it, it would be technology. Specifically, how technological advancements are shaping and altering the communications industry. Every time i see the news it seems like a new technology is is replacing an older one, which is why I am so fascinated by how the communications industry is affected.

 

– Nathan

Leave a comment